Richard Smith & Jim Nichols
Live From Boulevard Music -
A Chet Atkins and Jerry Reed Tribute

• Cascade
• Back Up And Push
• Moonglow
• Ochi Chornya (Dark Eyes)
• Django's Castle
• Who's Sorry Now
• After You've Gone
• Dizzy Fingers
• Rainbow

• Autumn Leaves
• Sweet Ceorgia Brown
• Nuages
• Honeysuckle Rose
• Funky Junk
• Jerry's Breakdown
• Stompin' At The Savoy
• Main Street Breakdown

An interesting mix: Richard Smith grew up in England, and Jim Nichols was raised in Virginia. What brings them together is a common love of Chet Atkins' guitar style.

Picking up the guitar at a very early age, both learned their craft by studying the music of Chet Atkins and Jerry Reed. Jim and Richard first met in 1992, and ever since then they've enjoyed performing together, blending each guitarist's unique interpretation of their musical mentors.

Tracks cover the full spectrum-- from classic Atkins and Reed compositions to jazz and pop standards. Richard plays nylon string on all songs, while Jim alternates between acoustic steel strings and electric guitar. On each tune, guitar fans are treated to both world-class fingerstyle technique, and dazzling, inventive single-note improvisation.

There's a great energy to this live CD, and the audience really adds to the excitement. Just listen to the crowd's response as the duo breaks into Stompin' At The Savoy, a tune that's usually reserved for an orchestra. You can hear the audience's sense of both surprise and approval as they realize that when Jim and Richard are on stage, two guitars are all that's needed. Very highly recommended!  Product description/review Copyright © 2007 Guitarist's Forum

This CD is Out-of-Stock.
To be notified when it is back in stock,
please click here for our e-mail.


Jim & Morning Nichols
Live From Boulevard Music

• St. Louis Blues
• Chet Atkins Medley:
    Say Si Si; Vilia; April in
    Portugal; Nagasaki
• Give It Up
• Anytime
• Swedish Rhapsody
• Change The World
• Heartaches

• I'll See You In My Dreams
• Drive In
• Do I Ever Cross Your Mind
• Empty Glass/Taste Of Honey
• Poppa's Knee
• One Mint Julip
• Yankee Doodle Dixie
• Main Street Breakdown
• Down By The Riverside

After hearing Morning sing on two tracks of the Richard Smith/Jim Nichols CD, many of you wanted to hear more.

Ten of the CD's 16 tracks showcase the unique blend of brilliant guitarist Jim Nichols and engaging Trad-Jazz/Pop singer Morning Nichols. Performing together since 1982, Jim and Morning give a tighly polished performance that's full of musical surprises. Every vocal track features a great fingerstyle solo by Jim—and as any Atkins' fan would expect, Drive In, Swedish Rhapsody, One Mint Julip, Yankee Doodle Dixie, Main Street Breakdown, and Chet's Medley are featured instrumentals. Very highly recommended!  
Product description/review Copyright © 2007 Guitarist's Forum   

Jim & Morning Nichols - Live CD: $16.95

Copyright © 1991-2007 Guitarist's Forum